The Success Story of Egg-Free Mayonnaise from Hampton Creek


People diagnosed with an egg allergy typically can’t eat mayonnaise, even though today’s commercial mayonnaise only contains a low percentage of egg. People who decide to quit eating meat and any animal products also can’t eat commercial mayo because it’s made with egg. The food producer hampton creek came to the rescue with a tasty egg-free vegan version of mayonnaise that met with rave reviews and a sense of appreciation from individuals who were finally able to include this sandwich spread in their meals again.

The product, called Just Mayo, is meant to be used just the way that standard mayonnaise is. It can be spread on bread, added to green salads for dressing, and used to make faux-chicken salad with vegetarian items containing soy, gluten and natural flavorings. People can find this sandwich spread in a surprisingly large number of stores, including some of the biggest chains. That indicates how much interest has grown in healthier foods. Without that strong consumer interest, the product would appeal mainly to a couple of niche markets and would probably only be available in natural food stores.

Many people want to eat a healthier diet but don’t want to give up processed foods altogether. With an egg-free mayonnaise, consumers get the flavor while reducing some of their cholesterol intake. With this particular product, they also are guaranteed canola oil made from non-genetically modified sources, and natural ingredients such as apple cider vinegar, pea protein, garlic and organic sugar. Just Mayo does not contain gluten or soy, which is advantageous for people who are sensitive to those substances. Most commercial mayonnaise is made with soybean oil. Even the new trend toward offering mayo crafted with olive oil tends to include soybean oil in the creamy dressing. And there’s typically more soybean oil than the olive oil, as manufacturers try to keep prices down.

Food production giant Unilever actually sued Hampton Creek because of this product, claiming that mayonnaise cannot be made without eggs. The suit was eventually dropped, and Unilever later released an egg-free spread of its own. Intriguingly, it did so under the Hellmann’s label, which is intrinsically connected with mayonnaise.