Eating a Diet of Vegan Food as Part of a Spiritual Lifestyle


For many people, vegan food is part of a spiritually oriented lifestyle that includes compassion to animals and care for the environment. Some vegans believe eating meat and other animal products is wrong, and they see the issue in black and white with no middle ground. Others believe this choice is right for them but don’t feel they should promote a vegan lifestyle as perfect for everyone. It’s likely, however, that everyone who chooses to eat a vegan diet would be happy if other people at least reduced their consumption of meat, dairy and eggs. Research shows that large-scale agricultural facilities have a substantial negative impact on the environment, yet those facilities are required to feed the numbers of people who choose to eat animal products.

Individuals of various faiths question whether people are meant to be vegan. For example, it appears that Jesus ate fish and adhered to an orthodox Jewish diet. However, many Biblical scholars believe that humans originally were not meant to use animals for food, but instead to be their caretakers. It was only after the great flood that God instructed people to eat animals, although the reason for this is a subject of debate. In any case, being mindful about what one eats can be a definitive aspect of a spiritual lifestyle.

People who include a vegan diet as part of their spiritual focus appreciate the efforts of food producers such as Hampton Creek, which currently offers a limited number of vegan items but has approached the venture differently than other small production companies. The company wants to create great-tasting convenience food items that can be sold right alongside more conventional products instead of only in a natural food department. They offer the products at prices the general public can afford, as opposed to items in natural food departments with prices that seem a bit startling to most consumers. At the moment, people can buy Hampton Creek sandwich spread that’s very similar to mayonnaise, refrigerated cookie dough, salad dressings and packaged mixes for pancakes and other foods. None of them contain dairy products or eggs, and those substances don’t need to be added, either.